Hiebert Library: Mennonite Library & Archives: Archival Collection

Archival collections in the Mennonite Library & Archives

The Mennonite Library & Archives holds archival collections in six areas:

Fresno Pacific University
Fresno Pacific Biblical Seminary (Mennonite Brethren Biblical Seminary)
Multiply (MB Mission)
General Conference of Mennonite Brethren Churches
Pacific District Conference of Mennonite Brethren Churches
Personal papers collections

Search Hiebert Library

Fresno Pacific University

Fresno Pacific University Archives
Fresno Pacific Biblical Seminary Archives

The Mennonite Library & Archives is the official archival repository for Fresno Pacific University, and holds records for most of its offices and programs. The following list includes some of the most significant collections.

Board of Trustees
President's Office
Provost's Office
Committee records
University Communications
Athletics
Associated Students of Fresno Pacific University
Advancement Office
Business Office
Records of the Business Manager/Business Vice President

The Mennonite Library & Archives is the official archival repository for the Mennonite Brethren Biblical Seminary, and holds records for most of its offices and programs.Since 2010 the seminary has been part of Fresno Pacific University.

The following list includes some of the most significant collections.

Board of Directors
President's Office
Academic Dean's Office
Committee records
Student government
MBBS Senior Seminar Papers

MB Church Archives

The Mennonite Library & Archives is the official archives of the General Conference of Mennonite Brethren Churches, which existed from 1878 until 2002. It included all Mennonite Brethren congregations in the United States and Canada. All of the organizations listed below ceased to exist in 2002, except for MB Mission and the Historical Commission.

The MLA holds records for the following General Conference agencies and organizations:

Boards, Council of
Christian Education, Board of
Christian Literature, Board of
Convention minutes & related convention records
Education, Board of
Executive Committee
Executive Council
Faith & Life, Board of
General Welfare & Public Relations, Board of
Historical Commission
Hymnal Committee
MB Mission
Mass Media, Board of
Program Planning Committee
Reference & Counsel, Board of
Resource Ministries, Board of
Trustees, Board of

MB Mission is the mission agency of the Mennonite Brethren Church, with programs in many countries around the world. The Mennonite Library & Archives is the official archival repository for MB Mission records. The MB Mission records held by the MLA include the following:

North American administrative office records
Christian Service Program
Afghanistan
Angola
Austria
Bangladesh
Botswana
Brazil
Burkina Faso
China
Colombia
Congo, Democratic Republic of the
Ecuador
Germany
India
Indonesia
Japan
Lithuania
Mexico
Nepal
Pakistan
Panama
Paraguay
Peru
Portugal
Post Oak Mission (Oklahoma)
Russia & the former Soviet Union
South Texas
Spain
Thailand
Uruguay
Venezuela

The Mennonite Library & Archives is the official archives of the Pacific District Conference of Mennonite Brethren Churches, which was founded in 1912. The conference includes all Mennonite Brethren congregations in California, Oregon, Washington, Arizona, and Utah. The MLA holds records for the following PDC organizations and agencies:

Bible Camps, Committee for
Christian Education, Board of
Deacons Conference Committee
District Minister
Executive Board
Executive Committee
Faith & Life, Board of
Home Missions, Board of
Music Committee
Nominating Committee
Program Committee
Statistician
Trustees, Board of
Welfare & Public Relations Committee
Women's Missionary Service
Youth Commission
Youth Ministries, Board of

In addition to its PDC organizational and agency records, the MLA also holds records for many Mennonite Brethren local congregations in the Pacific District Conference.

Abundant Hope Christian Center (Downey, Calif.)
Bethania Mennonite Brethren Church (Escondido, Calif.)
Bethany Mennonite Brethren Church (Fresno, Calif.)
Birch Bay Mennonite Brethren Church (Blaine, Wash.)
Blossom Valley Bible Church (San Jose, Calif.)
Butler Avenue Mennonite Brethren Church (Fresno, Calif.)
El Camino Bible Church (Santa Clara, Calif.)
Willow Avenue Mennonite Church (formerly College Community Church Mennonite Brethren) (Clovis, Calif.)
Community Bible Church (Arleta, Calif.)
County Bible Church (Orland, Calif.)
Community Bible Fellowship (Bellingham, WA)
Dallas Mennonite Brethren Church (Dallas, (Ore.)
Dinuba Mennonite Brethren Church (Dinuba, Calif.)
Faith Mennonite Brethren Church (Fresno, Calif.)
Grace Community Church (Capitola, Calif.)
Heritage Bible Church (Bakersfield, Calif.)
Kingsburg Mennonite Brethren Church (Kingsburg, Calif.)
Kingwood Bible Church (Salem, Ore.)
Laurelglen Bible Church (Bakersfield, Calif.)
Lincoln Glen Church (San Jose, Calif.)
Los Angeles Mennonite Brethren Church (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Madera Avenue Mennonite Brethren Church (Madera, Calif.)
Neighborhood Church (Visalia, Calif.)
North Fresno Mennonite Brethren Church (Fresno, Calif.)
Phoenix MB Congregations (Phx, AZ)
Raisin Community Church (Raisin City, Calif.)
Reedley Mennonite Brethren Church (Reedley, Calif.)
Rosedale Mennonite Brethren Church (Bakersfield, Calif.)
Shafter Mennonite Brethren Church (Shafter, Calif.)
Shoreline Mennonite Brethren Church (Seattle, Wash.)
South Shafter Mennonite Brethren Church (Shafter, Calif.)
Sunset Gardens Mennonite Brethren Church (Fresno, Calif.)
Vinewood Community Church (Lodi, Calif.)
Zion Mennonite Brethren Church (Dinuba, Calif.)

Personal papers collections

In addition to its institutional archival holdings, the Mennonite Library & Archives holds hundred of "personal papers" collections. These collections include documents and other items that were created by individuals over the course of their lives, and which contain information of significance to the study of Mennonites. The following is a partial list of some of the most significant personal papers collections in the MLA. Click on the links below to see the catalog record for that collection.