Encore is a powerful tool that lets you search the Hiebert Library catalog and all of our research databases simultaneously with a single search box. This integration of all of our resources creates a convenient, one-stop-shopping experience for our users and allows them to cross reference specific resources they are interested in, such as articles, across all of our databases.
Explore the tabs above on this guide to learn more about Encore, or try it out using the box on the right below. You may also use the Go To Encore tab to visit Encore's own search page directly.
Live chat sessions with library staff members are available between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday-Friday during the regular academic year.
If chat is offline, please call 559-453-2090 for assistance during regular library hours.
There really aren't many good reasons NOT to use Encore. Encore helps you quickly find relevant resources on a research topic without having to decide which database(s) to search, and without missing search results that you wouldn't find by simply searching in a single article database.
The three tabs on the main Encore search page will give you different results. The All Content tab searches everything we have access to at one time. However, if you know that you only want to search for online articles or streaming video/music, you can use the Online Articles & Streaming tab. Similarly, the Books & Journals tab will find everything physically available at the Hiebert Library as well as searching our eBook collection.
You can limit your search results in a variety of ways by using the gray Refine by box on the left once you have done your initial search. You can limit in all sorts of ways, including publication date, format, scholarly designation, professor and course (for course reserves), even selecting the specific database you want to pull search results from. The Hiebert Library Catalog and all of our databases are integrated into the search results.
Most of our databases do not have such special searching abilities that make using them any better than using Encore. However, several of our research databases have powerful search features which are only available in their unique interfaces. Though Encore DOES pull up search results from these databases, you may choose to take advantage of those different features by searching that particular database individually. We have provided a list of those databases and what features you may benefit from the following tabs.
***Don't forget that if one of these databases does not have the full text of an article you'd like, you should return to Encore to see if the article is available in full text from one of our other databases. Simply copy and paste the title of the article, in quotation marks, into the Encore search engine. Sometimes access we don't have in one database is covered by another. Encore finds these instances for you.***
Business Source Complete: The "Company Information" tab at the top brings up extra company-specific search choices, such as facility square footage, MSA name, revenue, employee number, and others.
CINAHL Complete: Using the CINAHL Headings tab allows you to search a set of subject-headings based on MESH Subject Headings, but altered to include specific nursing subjects and the Evidence-Based Care Sheets tab will find articles that deal with the application of Evidence-Based medicine. You can also limit your search using many different choices such as age groups, inpatients, outpatients, clinical queries, studies with human subjects, whether the author is a nurse or not, etc.
MAS Ultra - School Edition: Choose to search by "Lexile Reading Level".
Medline with Full Text: The "MeSH 2017" tab at the top allows users to search using Medical Subject Headings.
PsycARTICLES: Choose from search options such as Age Groups, Methodology, Population Group, Classification Codes, etc. to narrow your search.
Sears List of Subject Headings (H.W. Wilson): Type your keyword into the search engine here and it will tell you what the preferred term is and when to use it, including broader and narrower terms and other useful information. This is useful for school librarians in training, as it's made for smaller libraries using the Dewey Decimal System. It can also be useful for generating more specific keywords for searching in any catalog.
Results (books, etc.) from the Link+ Library Catalog are not included in an Encore search, but you can move your Encore search into the Link+ network's catalog, either using the search widget inside Encore that appears to the right of any results page as either an icon or a hyperlink out to Link+. We have tutorials on how to get Link+ items, for main campus students and forregional campus students.
You can use the Encore search engine to find links directly to a specific article database by selecting the "In the Library, ebooks, and e-journals" tab and typing the name of the database into the search box. Look for the search result that says "Web Resource" (it should be one of the first options). It will look like the example below and the link will take you directly to the database.