Skip to main content

Article searching: Home

This guide will show you how to find articles in periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers). It describes strategies for finding both print and online articles in the library.

Subject Index

Ask a Librarian!

Live chat sessions with library staff members are available between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday-Friday during the regular academic year.

If chat is offline, please call 559-453-2090 for assistance during regular library hours.

How to search for articles in Hiebert Library

This guide will introduce you to strategies for finding articles in periodicals (including journals, magazines, and newspapers) through the Hiebert Library Discovery Service.  Periodical resources are available in both print and online formats through the library, so we’ll cover how to access both of them.

We'll start by doing a keyword search for online articles. Start your search by clicking the "Search the Library" button on the Hiebert Library web page. You will be taken to the library’s Encore discovery service. Click on the Articles tab above the search box in order to limit your search to articles from online databases only. Then enter your desired search terms in the search box. You will see a results list displaying all articles that contain your search term(s).

To the left of the results list you'll see a gray Refine by: box that looks something like the example on the left. Clicking on any of the items in this box will give you results with only that type of content. Here are some of the important ones:

Full text  limits your search to include only articles available in full-text online format, and eliminates citations that contain only abstracts of articles. It's usually a good idea to click this first, since full text articles are the most convenient for you to use.

Peer Reviewed limits your search to include only articles in academic journals that have been subjected to review by other scholars. These generally are the best kind of articles to use for scholarly research.

Magazines will contain articles written at a popular and generally basic level, usually for news or entertainment value. Be careful about using this category when doing scholarly research, though they may be perfectly appropriate for that purpose.

Academic Journals will give you results similar to those in the "peer reviewed" facet. Many (though not all) academic journals contain peer-reviewed articles.

Reviews will generally be scholarly reviews of books published in academic journals.

News will include generally brief articles from newspapers and news magazines. 

Many of the items in the results list will have icons to the right of the title, with titles such as the following:

   PDF
   Full Text
   Check LinkSource for more information
   View this record from Arxiv

   View this record in OAIster

Clicking any of these icons will either open a full-text version of the article or take you to a citation page from which you can click "PDF Full Text." You will be taken to the specific content provider's website to view the article. Each of those sites look and behave differently, so you'll need to familiarize yourself with them individually.

If you did not select the "Full Text" facet on the left side of the screen, you will likely see some results for which Hiebert Library does not have full-text access. In order to get a copy of this article, you'll need to request it from ArticleReach. Click on the title of the article to open a page with all the information about that article. A link to request via ArticleReach should appear to the left in this record if we do not have full-text access. Before going through the ArticleReach request process, we ask that you consider following the steps in this library guide that may allow you to find the article another way. If ArticleReach cannot fill the request, it is automatically sent to the Inter-Library Loan librarian.

Searching for periodical title rather than for individual articles

The instructions so far have assumed that you're looking for articles that meet certain keyword criteria, and you don't really care which journal or magazine you find them in. But in some cases you may want to find a particular issue of a journal or magazine. Here's how to do that:

Go to the library web page and enter the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper that you want to find. It's usually best to enclose the title in quotation marks in order to reduce the size of your results list. Let's say that you want to browse the current issue of The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, and also look for a particular article in the January 1980 issue of that publication. Enter "Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists" in the Library Search box. You'll get a long list of results, many of which are online articles. To filter those results out, click the "In the Library" facet in the gray bar on the left side of the screen. That will give you a list of three items (see below):

Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists

Ignore the third item on the list, since it's a book that contains selections from the Bulletin. The first two items indicate that Hiebert Library has this publication as an "E-JOURNAL" (online) and "PERIODICAL" (in print). The first item on the list is for the e-journal, and we see that the library has online holdings from two different databases (MAS Ultra - School Edition and Academic Search Premier) from 1990 to the present. Since the holdings for both databases are the same in this case, it really doesn't matter which one you choose. Clicking on either one takes you to its database page. Since you want to browse the current issue, click on the link for the current year on the right side of the page, which will open a list of links for individual issues published in that year. Click on the link for the latest issue, which will open a list of all articles printed in that issue. You can open them in full text. Be aware that different database pages (such as EBSCO or JSTOR) are formatted in various ways. You'll need to familiarize yourself with the various formats in order to find the correct issue once you're taken to those pages.

But what about that issue from January 1980? The library's e-journal holdings only begin in 1990, so you won't find it there. Maybe the second item on the list above will help. Click the link for "Show library holdings," which will show a little more detail (see below):

show library holdings

We see here that the library has volume 31 (1975) through volume 45 (1989) of this periodical in print format. You can come to the library to read the particular issue you need, or (if you're at a regional center) contact the library to request that a scanned copy be sent to you.