Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sociology reference sources
The following list includes some of the best reference sources available in Hiebert Library in the field of sociology. You may also wish to read our guide on "Understanding Reference Sources" for more information on how to use such sources when writing a research paper.
Online reference sources
Dictionary of Race and Ethnic Relations by
Publication Date: 1996-12-04
The SAGE Dictionary of Statistics by
Publication Date: 2004-06-09
International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology by The International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology is the first encyclopedia in the field and a timely response to the surge of interest in economic sociology over the last 30 years. Economic Sociology deals with the multiple and complex relations between economy and society. In particular, it focuses on the impact of social, political and cultural factors on economic behaviour. The Encyclopedia gives comprehensive and accessible coverage of the wide range of areas and subjects covered by the field, including, amongst many others, such major topics as consumption, corruption, democracy and economy, ecology, embeddedness, gender and economy, globalization, industrial relations, law and economy, markets, organization theory, political economy, religion and economic life, social capital, the sociology of money, state and economy, trust, and work. The International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology is the much-needed major reference work on one of the richest areas of development in the social sciences in recent years. It is an extremely valuable new resource for students and researchers in sociology, economics, political science, and business, organization and management studies. Entries are cross-referenced and carry compact bibliographies. There is a full index.
Publication Date: 2005-12-15
Print reference sources
Encyclopedia of Sociology by
Publication Date: 1991-12-01
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures by
Publication Date: 2002
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by
Publication Date: 1995
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups by
Publication Date: 1980