Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject Guide: Religion: Reference sources

This guide will help you find the most useful information available through Hiebert Library in the field of religion.

Subject Index

Search Hiebert Library


 
Limit to:
Advanced Search

Reference sources in religion

The following list includes some of the best reference sources available in Hiebert Library in the field of religion. You may also wish to read our guide on "Understanding Reference Sources" for more information on how to use such sources when writing a research paper.

Online Reference Sources

The A to Z of the Druzes

Dictionary of Gnosis and Western Esotericism

Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion

Historical Dictionary of Shinto

Print Reference Sources

Abingdon Dictionary of Living Religions

Atlas of Modern Jewish History

Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism

Buddhism A to Z (Buddhist Text Translation Society's )

The Concise Encyclopedia of Islam

A Concordance of the Qur'an

Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period

Eerdmans' Handbook to the World's Religions

The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism

Encyclopedia Judaica

16 volumes

Encyclopedia of Fundamentalism

The Encyclopedia of Islam

The Encyclopedia of Judaism

Encyclopedia of Monasticism

Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion

2 volumes

Encyclopedia of Religion

16 volumes

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion

2 volumes

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion

2 volumes

End of Days

Harper's Dictionary of Hinduism

The HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion

Historical Dictionary of Shamanism

Historical Dictionary of Sufism

Historical Dictionary of the Bahai Faith

The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition: An Encyclopedia

Meltons Encyclopedia of American Religions

A New Dictionary of Religions

New Historical Atlas of Religion in America

The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion

The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions

The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions