Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mennonite Library & Archives: Library

The Mennonite Library

The library collection in the Mennonite Library & Archives contains all of Hiebert Library's resources about Anabaptist/Mennonite history, theology, and practice. It also includes items by Mennonite authors on a variety of subjects. The collection includes books, periodicals, and audio-visual media. While the collection is most extensive for Mennonite Brethren subjects and authors, it includes resources about all groups within the Anabaptist/Mennonite family.

Most resources in the Mennonite Library may be checked out according to the same policies as items in the main Hiebert Library collection. Most Mennonite Library books published before 1950, however, may not be checked out (unless the library holds multiple copies). Items in the open stacks of the Mennonite Library may be taken to the front circulation desk in the main library to be checked out.

The Mennonite Library also has a rare book collection, consisting mostly of books published in the 17th-19th centuries. Rare books may only be used in the Mennonite Library reading room, and may not be checked out.

To search only for Mennonite Library & Archives resources in the library's discovery service, perform an advanced search, making sure that you select "Mennonite Library & Archives" from the drop-down menu for "collection." Once you've gotten a results list, you'll also need to click "library catalog" in the gray "Refine by" box on the left if you want to eliminate online article results.