Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject Guide: Biology & Environmental Science: Reference sources

Subject Index

Search Hiebert Library


 
Limit to:
Advanced Search

Biology & environmental science reference sources

The following list includes some of the best reference sources available in Hiebert Library in biology and environmental science. You may also wish to read our guide on "Understanding Reference Sources" for more information on how to use such sources when writing a research paper.

Online Reference Sources

Blackwell's Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology

Concise Encyclopaedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

Dictionary of Botany (English-Spanish, Spanish-English)

Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology

English-Spanish Dictionary of Plant Biology

Elsevier's Dictionary of Herpetological and Related Terminology

Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals

Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology

The Eponym Dictionary of Mammals

The Eponym Dictionary of Reptiles

Helm Dictionary of Scientific Bird Names : From Aalge to Zusii

History of Science in the United States

The Names of Plants

Print Reference Sources

American Environmental Leaders

Dictionary of Scientific Biography

Encyclopedia of Agrochemicals

Encyclopedia of Bioethics

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

Pollution A to Z

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Evolution

Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia

The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution