Skip to main content

Free Open Resources: Home

Free online resources to supplement your library searches.

Free, Open-Source Resources

The Hiebert Library is a deceptive place. The resources that you see in the building itself are only the tip of the iceberg for what we actually can provide. Through our own collection and borrowing resources such as Link+, ArticleReach, and Inter-Library Loan we can get almost anything you need. Librarians understand that access to a large amount of resources is empowering, useful, and essential to creating good researchers.

Here are some online resources we think you may find useful during your time here at FPU and even beyond.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Use when searching for full text of scholarly articles.

LibriVox

Internet Archive

HathiTrust Digital Library

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Journals for Free

Lumen

Lumen- Use these high-quality OERs as-is or modify them to fit your course and students’ needs.

Humanities Commons

Humanities Commons helps you discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials.

Community of Online Research Assignments

Project CORA is an open access resources that has sample assignments for faculty and librarian to use to enrich information literacy for their students. 

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Books is another good place to check for full text of books online. Most of the time you'll only be able to see a preview, but that may be all you need to determine whether or not a resource is useful for your work. Remember that if you can't find that book in the Hiebert Library you can always get it through Link+ or Inter-library Loan.

There is also often a link to a Google Book Preview in the Encore catalog at the bottom of the full record for the book.

Project Gutenberg

Library of Congress

Semantic Scholar

ResearchGate

Academia.edu

MERLOT

 MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education.

New York Public Library digital archives

The New York Public Library has an open collection of resources of their holdings. 

Biodiversity Heritage Library

The Biodiversity Heratige Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives.To document Earth’s species and understand the complexities of swiftly-changing ecosystems in the midst of a major extinction crisis and widespread climate change, researchers need something that no single library can provide – access to the world’s collective knowledge about biodiversity. 

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)

Bible Gateway

Lookup a word or passage in the Bible


BibleGateway.com
Include this form on your page

TED Talks

Open Access Thesis and Dissertations

Open Access Theses and Dissertations provides access to various topics that have been covered by Thesis and Dissertation writings from students who have allowed these to be shared for free to anyone!

OER Commons

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Connexions. It is a great first step in an OER search, but often more results can be found by searching the specific collection.

Khan Academy

Kahn Academy Offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard. Sign up for a free account to fully browse the site.

Digital Public Library of America

Collections of materials from America’s libraries, archives, and museums. The copyright status of items in the DPLA varies. Many items are in the public domain. For individual rights information, please check the Rights field in the metadata or follow the link to the digital object on the content provider’s website for more information.