Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject Guide: English: Reference sources

This guide will help you find the most useful information available through Hiebert Library in the field of English.

Subject Index

Search Hiebert Library


 
Limit to:
Advanced Search

English reference sources

The following list includes some of the best reference sources available in Hiebert Library in the field of English. You may also wish to read our guide on "Understanding Reference Sources" for more information on how to use such sources when writing a research paper.

Online Reference Sources

African American Authors, 1745-1945

American Naturalistic and Realistic Novelists

American Women Writers, 1900-1945

Asian American Novelists

Asian American Playwrights

The Cambridge Guide to English Usage

Dictionary of American Children's Fiction, 1995-1999

A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics

A Dictionary of Literary Symbols

Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism

Historical Dictionary of Children's Literature

Key Concepts in Literary Theory

The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English

Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics

A Reader's Companion to the Short Story in English

Romanticism

Who's Who in Twentieth Century World Poetry

Print Reference Sources

American Writers

The Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English

A Comprehensive Grammar of the English Language

The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature

Contemporary Authors

Contemporary Literary Criticsm

Contemporary Novelists

Contemporary Poets

A Dictionary of Biblical Tradition in English Literature

A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory

Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook

Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory

The Feminist Companion to Literature in English

Granger's Index to Poetry

Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts

A Handbook to Literature

The Harper Handbook to Literature

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

The New Arthurian Encyclopedia

The New Pelican Guide to English Literature

The Oxford Companion to American Literature

The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature

The Oxford Companion to English Literature

The Oxford Companion to Irish Literature

The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English

The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology

The Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend

Reference Guide for English Studies

Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics

Something About the Author

Twentieth-Century Children's Writers

Twentieth Century Literary Criticism