Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject Guide: Music: Reference sources

This guide will help you find the most useful information available through Hiebert Library in the field of music.

Subject Index

Search Hiebert Library


 
Limit to:
Advanced Search

Music reference sources

The following list includes some of the best reference sources available in Hiebert Library in the field of music. You may also wish to read our guide on "Understanding Reference Sources" for more information on how to use such sources when writing a research paper.

Online reference sources

Print Reference Sources

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Classical Music

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians

Contemporary Composers

The Dictionary of Composers and Their Music

Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music

Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Encyclopedia of the Opera

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music

Heritage of Music

Historical Dictionary of Sacred Music

Hymntune Index and Related Hymn Materials

International Dictionary of Black Composers

The New American Dictionary of Music

The New Grove Dictionary of American Music

The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz

The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed.

The New Harvard Dictionary of Music

The Oxford Companion to the American Musical

The Oxford Dictionary of Music

Women and Music in America Since 1900