Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Staff Directory: Home

Contact information for all the professional staff in the library.

Subject Index

Staff directory

Kevin Enns-Rempel
Kevin Enns-Rempel
Library Director
kevin.enns-rempel@fresno.edu
559-453-2225

I have been a member of the Hiebert Library staff since 1984 (and even earlier if you count two years as a student assistant from 1980 to 1982). I was the Archivist in the Mennonite Library & Archives from 1984 until 2010, at which time I became the Library Director. I am a graduate of FPU (B.A. in history, 1982), the University of California, Riverside (M.A. in history, 1984), and San José State University (M.L.I.S, 2015). I have published numerous articles on Mennonite history, and also maintain a Website called “A Guide to Historic Architecture in Fresno, California.” From 1996 to 2009 I served on the City of Fresno’s Historic Preservation Commission. When not at work, I enjoy playing guitar and birding, with a North American “life list” of over 460 species. My wife Connie and I have two adult children and three grandsons.

 


Vern Carter
Cataloging & Technical Services Librarian
vern.carter@fresno.edu
559-453-7124

 

I graduated from Fresno Pacific College in 1979 with a bachelors in Psychology, before it was known as Fresno Pacific University. I had interest in going to the MB seminary, but was injured and unable to attend; I then went to Central Baptist Theological Seminary in Kansas City, Kansas, where I received a Master’s degree in Divinity, American Baptist. I then went to Temple University, where I studied for a PhD Program, however graduated with a Masters of World Religions. I made it to his Library Science degree at the University of Denver, where I was part of the pilot class of ALA Accreditation. I enjoy exploring nature and being outdoors. As an old farm boy, I truly and deeply enjoy nature. Wherever my pick-up truck can take me, that’s where I like go. The fewer people on that road the better; then I can really see the wildlife!

 

David Hasegawa
Desk Supervisor, Inter-Library Loan Coordinator
559-453-2231

I am married to a wonderful woman named Marissa, and we have a son named Ezra and a daughter named Lyla. I like origami, Star Wars and Star Trek, philosophy, theology, and in general the cross-application of ideas (i.e,. how any one thing relates to another) I think myth, fantasy, and fiction are wonderful ways to discuss real life issues and “truth” in general.  Whether talking ancient myth or modern fiction, we all have stories around which we build our worldview.  It is always interesting to learn about people by becoming familiar with the stories that have shaped their approach to life.  My formative stories come from family (church and biological), the Bible, cartoons of the 1980s and 1990s (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Thundercats,Transformers, Darkwing Duck, etc), and books (like The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien or The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis). My last job was with Blossom Bluff Orchards, a stone-fruit farm near Reedley, where I did everything from drive tractors to make deliveries in the San Francisco bay area. My favorite part was when a praying mantis would land on my arm or shoulder when tractor driving and eat the bugs stirred up by the tractor while I drove around.  


Hannah Keeney
Archivist
hannah.keeney@fresno.edu
559-453-3437

I have been the archivist in the Mennonite Library & Archives since July 2014. I grew up in Phoenix, Arizona, and am a graduate of Bluffton University (B.A. English, Peace & Conflict Studies, 2011) and Indiana University (MLS - Archives & Records Management, 2014). In between studies I was a PULSE participant (Pittsburgh Urban Leadership Service Experience, 2012). I can often be seen commuting to campus by bicycle. In my spare time I enjoy baking, cooking, and traveling. My most recent travels include a three week solo trip around Northern Ireland and Ireland. As Tolkien said, "Not all who wander are lost."

 

Aimee Romley
Instructional Librarian
aimee.romley@fresno.edu
559-453-2228

I grew up in academic libraries (perk of mom working there!) and am happy to be back among the books. I graduated from Fresno State with a B.S. in Child Development and from San Jose State with a Masters in Library and Information Sciences- albeit 25 years apart! In between graduations, I was able to do my favorite job: raising my two amazing kids who are now amazing adults. Plus, I threw in lots of volunteer work, substitute teaching, and working at the Reedley College Library part time. When I'm not among the books, I am watching movies or TV and reading: Bible commentary, Disneyana, and true crime being favorites... but not all at the same time! I also love hanging out with my family, decorating for holidays, and dreaming of being back at any Disney park very, very soon. 

 

Emma Sorensen 
Acquisitions/Collection Development Librarian
emma.sorensen@fresno.edu
559-453-8018

I grew up in Bakersfield, California, and lived there until moving to Fresno in 2015 to attend Fresno Pacific University. I graduated from FPU in 2018 with a Bachelor’s degree in History. While I was a student, I also worked in the Mennonite Library and Archives, which is located in the back of Hiebert Library. After graduating from FPU, I went on to get my Master’s degree in Library and Information Science. I graduated from my program at the University of Arizona in 2020. I started as the Acquisitions/Collection Development Librarian in August 2021. In my free time I enjoy reading, watching new tv shows and revisiting old ones, and doing puzzles.