Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Finding what you need in Hiebert Library: Home

This guide explains how to use our "discovery service" to search for anything that Hiebert Library has to offer.

Subject Index

Finding What Your Need

Hiebert Library offers a wide array of resources to support the classroom, research, and recreational reading needs of the Fresno Pacific University community. Some of these resources are located in the library building, while others are available online or by courier delivery service. Resources available through the library include:

No matter what you're looking for, start your search at the Hiebert Library web page, where you'll find a "Search the Library" box in which you can type your search terms. This takes you to the library's Discovery Service, where you will see your results and can enter additional search terms as needed. You can also bypass the library web page by going straight to http://librarysearch.fresno.edu.

The discovery service search box looks like this:

Above the search box, you'll see three tabs. Here's what they mean:

  • All content: use it to find all library resources: books, e-books, journals, audio-visual, archives, streaming music and videos, and articles from online databases.
  • Library Catalog: use it to find physical items in the library, e-books, and e-journals by title -- basically, this means everything except articles from online databases.
  • Online articles & databases: use it to find articles from online databases, as well as streaming music and video content.

The following categories are good ones to use when entering keywords in the search box:

  • Name of author
  • Title
  • Subject
  • Name of professor or class (if looking for items on reserve).

You may combine as many of these categories into a single search as you wish.

Depending on how detailed your criteria were, your results may run to hundreds of thousands of items -- far too many for anyone to handle. You'll need to find a way to filter your results so that you find as much of what you want -- and as little of what you don't want -- as possible. There are three primary ways to sharpen the focus of your search: 1) Be as specific as possible in your search terms; 2) Use the "Refine by" list to narrow your search results; and 3) use the Advanced Search screen.

1. Be as specific as possible

Try not to use overly-broad or vague terms when searching. An "all content" search for "chemistry," for example, will give you a ridiculous number of results (try it and see!). Instead, use more than one word, and enclose phrases in quotation marks. Both techniques will provide a more manageable list of better results.

2. Refine your results: If you searched using the All Content tab, the discovery service will give you every possible type of record -- print, audio-visual, digital, and anything else we might have. Depending on your search, you may prefer one of those types more than the others, or would at least prefer to look at them one at a time. You can narrow your search by clicking on either the In the Library or Online articles tab. You can also do it by using the gray "Refine by" bar on the left side of search results screen (see below). Each of the items in that box can be used to limit your search results to items meeting that criterion. You can select as many items as you want. Here's a list of some of the most useful ones, with a description of what they do:

Library Catalog: displays everything except online articles and streaming content.

Online articles & streaming: Displays only online articles available through databases such as EBSCOHost, JSTOR, and SpringerLink, as well as streaming audio and video resources.

Full Text: displays only online articles that are available in full-text format.

Peer Reviewed: displays only online articles that were published in peer-reviewed journals.

At the Library: Similar to "Library Catalog," but only displays items that are not currently checked out.

Online: displays all digital resources -- online articles, e-books, e-journals, and web resources.

Found In: Options in this section allow you to search for your terms as a title, author, or subject rather than simply a keyword.

Format: Options in this section allow you to see only the specific type of resource you choose.

Explore other items as you wish, but the list above will generally be the most useful. When you select any facet, a black x will appear next to it. To turn that facet off, simply click on the x.

 

3. Use the Advanced Search screen

Just below the search box near the top of the screen, you'll see an option for "Advanced Search" (see below):

Encore search

Click "Advanced Search" to open a box like this:

Advanced search box

This box allows you to sharpen the focus of your search in several ways. Many of them are the same as the options available in the "Refine by" box. The most useful new tool found here is the ability to link several terms together in a single search. Click one of the boxes next to "Add Boolean" to add additional terms. They can be connected with the terms "and," "or," & "not."

If you would like a more detailed guide to good search strategies, please read Getting Beyond the Keyword: Advanced Catalog Searching Techniques.

Understanding your results

Depending on what kind of items are in your results list, you'll do different things to access them. For any kind of record, however, clicking on the title will usually open a detailed record that shows more information about the item.

Books

Printed books will display in two different ways. If Hiebert Library has a physical copy of the book, it will display with a note that looks like this:

This tells you that the book is available in our library. The location and call number tells you where to find it on the shelves.

In other cases, the Online articles & databases results might simply contain a citation to a book, which displays with a note like this:

Clicking on this link will show you a citation for the book, but we may not have a copy in our library. If we don't, you'll need to look for it in Link+.

E-Books

E-books will display with a note that looks something like this:

Click on this link to open the e-book in its own Web platform.

Reserve material

Some items have been placed on the reserve shelf by professors for use in a particular course. They will display with the following note:

Reserve items may be requested at the Hiebert Library circulation desk, and can be checked out for 2 hours or 1 day.

Audio-visual material

Music recordings, videos, or other a/v resources will display with notes like the following:

music

video

They must be requested at the Hiebert Library circulation desk. Most popular DVDs, however, are available for browsing on shelves near the circulation desk.

Online Articles, Print Periodicals, and E-Journals

Hiebert Library subscribes to thousands of journals and magazines. Some are available in print format, others as e-journals through which you can search for individual articles. There is another library guide available with detailed instructions on how to access these resources.

Can't find the book you need? Try Link+

If you can't find a particular book in Hiebert Library (or if our copy is checked out), you may be able to request it through Link+, a consortium of over 60 libraries in California and Nevada. It provides quick courier-delivery access to almost 7 million unique items, at no charge to you. Items can be delivered to Hiebert Library or any FPU regional center. There is another library guide that gives step-by-step instructions on how to use Link+.